Building Houses for Friedsee in the CDS in Second Life™


I have been working on new houses in Second Life™ on my platform and work with Mesh Studio and Advanced lighting textures, and importing the DAE files created by the Mesh Studio script into Blender 3D.

Using Mesh studio makes building much easier and it gives me a chance to look at DAE in Blender 3D and hopefully create the textures in blender as well.

I enjoy building in Second Life™ again and with my new and trusted computer ‘Zephyr’ because all the processes all done much quicker.

My building platform on Locus Amoenus - 1500 m in the sky!
My building platform on Locus Amoenus – 1500 m in the sky!

I can now build a front or back wall with all the spaces left for each window and doors; the Mesh Studio script creates the DAE file which I then bring it into Blender 3D to reduce the triangles.

Mech studio is an excellent tool to reduce Li weight on the server for the 3D assets whilst creating complicated buildings.

Here is the second house model that I have created building in Second Life™ using Mesh Studio after creating it in prims and reducing the vertices in Blender 3-D.

I found that creating in prims in Second Life™ then importing it in Blender 3D shows how there are far too many vertices created while building in Second Life™. I am sure that in the not so far future I will start to build exclusively in Blender, unless it is just a plain wall with no holes or a floor. Rezzing things onto a mesh floor creates problems so a normal prim floor is the best.

House Model 2 - for Friedsee, outside pink walls
House Model 2 – for Friedsee, outside pink walls

I enjoy so much building for Second Life™ that I am planning to make a series of houses with a low land impact (Li) and a high level of detail (LoD) and sell these in a shop in the Confederation of Democratic Simulators.

House Model 2 - for Friedsee, outside tan walls
House Model 2 – for Friedsee, outside tan walls
